MARYLAND CORRECTIONAL TRAINING COMMISSION

Minutes – 214th Meeting – July 13, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT

Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (Chair)

Ryan Ross, Deputy Director, Charles County Detention Center

Melinda Grenier, President, Maryland Criminal Justice Association

Annie Harvey, Deputy Secretary of Operations, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Philip Morgan, Commissioner of Corrections, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Vincent Schiraldi, Secretary, Department of Juvenile Services

Ayodele Okunoren, Correctional Officer of the State, MCI-W

Rhonda Johnson, Regional Representative, BCBIC

Hyanna Barnett, Regional Representative, DPSCS

Fateema Mobley, Regional Representative, MCI-J

MEMBERS ABSENT

Sheriff Scott Adams, President, Maryland Sheriff's Association

David Brown, Deputy Director, Department of Juvenile Services

Zenita Hurley, Assistant Attorney General representing Anthony G. Brown, Attorney General

Dr. Beverly O'Bryant, representing Dr. Maria Thompson, President, Coppin State University

Chief John Philips, Chief of Learning and Career Development, Federal Bureau of Prisons

STAFF PRESENT

Albert L. Liebno, Jr., Executive Director, Police & Correctional Training Commissions

Kelly Brauning, Certification Administrator

Stephanie Cain, Compliance Administrator

Sarah Chatfield, Media Specialist

Gina Clay, Compliance Officer

Chaka Cross, Recorder

Kevin Duerling, Certification Unit

Brittany Rohe, Certification Unit

Joan Henard, Certification Unit

Royale Bacote, Certification Unit

Katie Johnson, Recorder

Bob Wagner, Director of Police Training

Tom Martin, Director of Correctional Training

Violet Jackson, Assistant Director of Correctional Training

Wayne Silver, PTSC Executive Director

Elise Ice, OAG-DPSCS

GUESTS

Jennifer Beskid, Office of Government and Legislative Affairs

Anthony Gaskins, DPSCS/OOS

Sha-Keara Pinkney, DPSCS/OOS

Nicole Amedori, Department of Juvenile Services

Kristal Ostrander, Department of Juvenile Services

Letitia McMillion, Department of Juvenile Services

Denise Victory, Department of Juvenile Services

The 213th meeting of the Correctional Training Commission (CTC) was called to order by the Chair, Secretary Carolyn J. Scruggs, at 10:04 a.m at the Public Safety Education and Training Center (PSETC), Sykesville, Maryland. A quorum was present.

The agenda was as follows:

1. Approval of Minutes – April 6, 2023

- 2. Facility Report
- 3. Legal Issues
- 4. Old Business
 - a) COMAR 12.10.01.22 discussion (Marijuana)
- 5. New Business
 - a) Selection of a Vice Chair

Adjourn to Closed Session

b) CTC Executive Director selection

Secretary Scruggs asked all members, staff and guests to introduce themselves.

1. Approval of Minutes – April 6, 2023

Secretary Scruggs asked the members to review the minutes.

A MOTION to approve the minutes from the January 12, 2023 meeting was made by Ms. Melinda Grenier: SECONDED: DSO Annie Harvey. The MOTION carried.

2. Facility Report

Mr. Albert Liebno, Executive Director of the MD Police & Correctional Training Commissions (MPCTC), directed members to the report, which reviewed the activities at the Center during the past quarter. He noted that the agency has a MOU with CCBC allowing academy graduates to earn college credits. CCBC also has one-day seminars that all employees can take. Mr. Liebno also gave kudos to the MPCTC Certification unit and correctional agencies for their compliance efforts. He also noted that the Leadership Development Institute (LDI) hosted a 10 week program through Northwest University that was well received and they are planning to offer it again next year.

3. <u>Legal Issues</u>

Elise Ice from stated that there were no legal issues to cover.

4. Old Business

a) COMAR 12.10.0122 Discussion (Marijuana)

Secretary Scruggs shared that marijuana is considered a schedule 1 drug federally and DPSCS will continue to follow the federal law for correctional officers and law enforcement officers. The hiring process will be reviewed to consider the legalization for recreational use as of July 1, 2023. She is reviewing the policies for California and Colorado and will share Colorado's policy with Commission members.

5. New Business

a) Selection of Vice Chair

Secretary Scruggs stated that there is a vacancy for vice chair and asked for volunteers and/or nominations. Deputy Director Ryan Ross of the Charles County Detention Center was nominated.

A MOTION to nominate Ryan Ross as vice chair was made by Ms. Melinda Grenier: SECONDED by Secretary Carolyn Scruggs. The members were polled to record their votes. The MOTION carried.

Secretary Scruggs announced that the Commission would hear the next item in Closed Session.

Recorder's Note: Ms. Cross read the closed session statement into the record.

A MOTION was made by Secretary Vincent Schiraldi to adjourn to a Closed Session: SECONDED: Mr. Phil Morgan. The MOTION carried.

The meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 11:20 a.m.

6. CTC Executive Director

Secretary Scruggs stated that a panel interviewed several candidates for the CTC Executive Director position, and Jennifer Beskid was the top candidate. Ms. Beskid was given the opportunity to introduce herself to the Commission and answer any questions.

A MOTION to select Jennifer Beskid as the CTC Executive Director was made by Secretary Vincent Schiraldi: SECONDED by Mr. Phil Morgan. The members were polled to record their votes. The MOTION carried.

Recorder's Note: This concluded the closed session. The meeting adjourned to an open session at 11:37 p.m.

Secretary Scruggs announced the outcome of the items heard in closed session.

A MOTION to adjourn was made by Secretary Vincent Schiraldi: SECONDED: Mr. Phil Morgan. The MOTION carried.

The meeting adjourned at 11:38 p.m.

These "minutes" are a synopsis of the Commission's discussion and decisions and not a verbatim rendering of the proceedings.